The singles medals will be hotly contested at Birmingham. Unlike many major tournaments the Commonwealth Games features a round-robin for singles, a decision which will perhaps favour competitors who aren’t used to the expected heavy greens of Birmingham.

Mens’ Singles

One of those will be Australia’s Aaron Wilson, who is looking to defend his gold won in Queensland in 2018. Wilson has been in good form in the singles format, winning the Australian Open in 2021 as well as the 2022 Australian Open pairs alongside fellow Jackaroo Ben Twist.

He won’t have it all his own way – Ireland’s Gary Kelly comes into the event in good form, taking out the European Championship final over Jersey’s Mike Rive 21-10. Wales’ Dan Salmon is also worth keeping an eye on, having a good win over Aaron Teys in a Leamington Spa test event in May.

The group to watch in the mens draw appears to be Section B – with Gary Kelly, Ryan Bester and Dan Salmon vying for two places in the finals.

Womens’ Singles

There will be a changing of the guard in the womens’ singles, New Zealand’s Jo Edwards – winner of the past two womens’ singles golds – retired in 2020. Katelyn Inch will represent New Zealand in her second Commonwealth games, looking to add to her fours gold in 2018.

The home nation will be excited about the prospects of Amy Pharoah who beat both of Australia’s Chloe Stewart and Rebecca Van Asch in a test event earlier in the year. Australia has selected Ellen Ryan for the singles, who is coming off a perfect winning record in the recent trans-Tasman test series. Section B again appears the group to watch on the womens side of the draw.

Royal Leamington Spa Bowling Club will host the 2022 Commonwealth Games events. Picture: Bowls England on Twitter.

The Draw

Nominated representative is noted where announced.

Sectional Draw for the Women’s Singles 
Section A – New Zealand (Katelyn Inch), Malaysia (Siti Zalina Ahmed), England (Amy Pharaoh), Niue (Olivia Buckingham), Singapore (Shermeen Lim)
Section B – Wales (Laura Daniels), Scotland (Dee Hoggan), Northern Ireland (Shauna O’Neill), India (Tania Choudhury), Falkland Islands (Daphne Arthur-Almond)
Section C – South Africa (Colleen Piketh), Norfolk Island (Shae Wilson), Fiji (Litia Tikoisuva), Cook Islands (Nooroa Mataio) 
Section D – Canada (Jordan Kos), Australia (Ellen Ryan), Kenya (Eunice Wambui Mbugua), Guernsey (Luce Beere)

Sectional Draw for the Men’s Singles 
Section A – Australia (Aaron Wilson), South Africa (Jason Evans), Guernsey (Todd Priaulx), Kenya (Cephas Kimwaki Kimani), Cook Islands (Phillip Jim) 
Section B – Canada (Ryan Bester), Northern Ireland (Gary Kelly), Wales (Dan Salmon), Norfolk Island (Ryan Dixon), Niue (Tukala Matua Lemotu Tagelagi)
Section C – England (Jamie Walker), Malaysia (Fairul Izwan Abd Muin), Fiji (Semesa Naiseruvati), Jamaica (Robert Simpson), Namibia (Carel Aron Olivier)
Section D – Scotland (Iain McLean), New Zealand (Shannon Mcilroy), Jersey (Ross Davis), India (Mridul Borgohain), Falkland Islands (Chris Locke)

Who is your pick for the singles golds? Let us know in the comments.

P.S – click here to find out more about advertising with rollUp.

Categories: Uncategorized


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.